+The House of Life; Linden Lea; 4 Poems by Fredegond Shove
  • Künstler: Roderick Williams, Iain Burnside
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2004
  • Bestellnummer: 2365868
  • Erscheinungstermin: 26.9.2005


Although Vaughan Williams is best known as a symphonist and for large-scale choral works, the essence of his music can also be found in his songs, which demonstrate a peerless sensitivity to the beauty of the English language. Songs of Travel, composed in 1904 at a time when the composer's personal voice was emerging, have been described as a "kind of English Winterreise". Together with The House of Life, settings of six sonnets by Dante Gabriel Rossetti, they are the first to mark a significant advance from the Edwardian parlour song towards true English art song. Volume 3 of the Naxos English Song Series (8.557114) features Vaughan Williams' famous Housman settings On Wenlock Edge."
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Songs of Travel: The Vagabond
  2. 2 Songs of Travel: Let Beauty awake
  3. 3 Songs of Travel: The Roadside Fire
  4. 4 Songs of Travel: Youth and Love
  5. 5 Songs of Travel: In Dreams
  6. 6 Songs of Travel: The Infinite Shining Heavens
  7. 7 Songs of Travel: Whither must I wander?
  8. 8 Songs of Travel: Bright is the ring of words
  9. 9 Songs of Travel: I have trod the upward and the downward slope
  10. 10 The House of Life: Love-sight
  11. 11 The House of Life: Silent Noon
  12. 12 The House of Life: Love#s Minstrels
  13. 13 The House of Life: Heart#s Haven
  14. 14 The House of Life: Death in Love
  15. 15 The House of Life: Love#s Last Gift
  16. 16 Linden Lea
  17. 17 4 Poems by Fredegond Shove: Motion and Stillness
  18. 18 4 Poems by Fredegond Shove: Four Nights
  19. 19 4 Poems by Fredegond Shove: The New Ghost
  20. 20 4 Poems by Fredegond Shove: The Water Mill

EUR 7,99*

versandfertig innerhalb von 1-3 Tagen
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)