+Elizabethan Dances; The Innumerable Dance; Aphrodite in Aulis; The Magic Island; Festival March
  • Künstler: Jonathan Small, Eleanor Hudson, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, David Lloyd-Jones
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2006
  • Bestellnummer: 6682763
  • Erscheinungstermin: 4.12.2006


This fifth volume in the Naxos cycle of the complete orchestral works of William Alwyn features the popular Elizabethan Dances, which contrast ancient and modern dance rhythms from the courts of Elizabeth I and Elizabeth II. The atmospheric Symphonic Prelude "The Magic Island" was inspired by Shakespeare's The Tempest. A perfect evocation of Spring, The Innumerable Dance is a tone poem in all but name. This and the exquisite miniature Aphrodite in Aulis have not been heard for over 70 years, and here receive their first recording. Composed during World War II, the Oboe Concerto expresses the composer's yearning the peace and beauty of the English countryside.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Elizabethan Dances : No. 1. Moderato e ritmico
  2. 2 Elizabethan Dances : No. 2. Waltz tempo - languidamente
  3. 3 Elizabethan Dances : No. 3. Allegro scherzando (ma non troppo allegro)
  4. 4 Elizabethan Dances : No. 4. Moderato
  5. 5 Elizabethan Dances : No. 5. Poco allegretto e semplice
  6. 6 Elizabethan Dances : No. 6. Allegro giocoso
  7. 7 The Innumerable Dance - An English Overture
  8. 8 Concerto for Oboe and Harp: I. Andante e rubato
  9. 9 Concerto for Oboe and Harp: II. Vivace
  10. 10 Aphrodite in Aulis - An Eclogue for small orchestra after George Moore
  11. 11 The Magic Island
  12. 12 Festival March

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)