Yiu-Kwong: Whirling Dance; Flötenkonzert
+Shui-Long / Shuan-Ho: Bamboo Flötenkonzert
+Yijun / Yiuwen: Fair Flowers Under Full Moon
+Yu-Xian / Chunquan: Longing For The spring Breeze
+Traditional / Chenglong: The Thivats of Autumn
Tonformat: multichannel (Hybrid)
  • Künstler: Sharon Bezaly, Taipei Chinese Orchestra, Yiu-Kwong Chung
  • Label: BIS, DDD, 2008
  • Bestellnummer: 3267134
  • Erscheinungstermin: 24.3.2009


Transverse flutes made of bamboo have been important in Chinese music for more than 2000 years. It should therefore not come as a surprise that flutist Sharon Bezaly, known for her imaginative choice of repertoire, has looked eastwards in her search for new musical horizons, nor that she has received a warm welcome. Together with the Taipei Chinese Orchestra and composer-conductor Chung Yiu-Kwong, she explores the sonic possibilities of the combination of Western flute and Chinese instruments such as erhu, guzheng, yangqin and zhongruan. The sparkling and whirling dance that we are invited to join includes two newly composed works by Chung Yiu-Kwong, both dedicated to the soloist, as well as an fascinating exercise in the art of musical arrangement: the conversion of Ma Shui-Long’s concerto for bamboo flute and symphony orchestra into a concerto for piccolo and Chinese orchestra. Of the remaining three shorter works, The Thivats of Autumn is an arrangement for chamber ensemble of a traditional Chinese classical tune for pipa, depicting the sadness experienced by Wang Zhaojun, one of ‘The Four Beauties’ of ancient China, as she is forced to by the Emperor Yuan (48-33 BC) to marry a foreign ruler and leave her country. The original compositions that serve as basis for the arrangements of Fair Flowers under Full Moon and Longing for the Spring Breeze are both of more recent date, composed during the 1930s in Shanghai and on Taiwan respectively. Highly colourful and atmospheric, they make a perfect send-off to a programme as vibrant as a Chinese New Year’s parade.


Audio 07 / 09: "Ma Shui-Longs Konzert für Bambusflöte entwickelt unter Bezalys virtuosem Zugriff einen packenden westöstlichen Elan. Dagegen entfaltet sie in Volkslied-Arrangements wie "Sehnsucht nach dem Frühlingswind" einen poetischen Zauber ohnegleichen: zum Wegträumen."
  • Tracklisting
  • Details
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Whirling dance (für Flöte und Chinesisches Orchester)

Konzert für Flöte und Chinesisches Orchester

  1. 2 1. Molto espressivo - Allegro ma non troppo
  2. 3 2. Molto placido - Più mosso - Molto placido
  3. 4 3. Allegro con brio
  1. 5 The Thivats of Autumn (arr. für Flöte und kleines chinesisches Instrumentalensemble)

Konzert für Bambusflöte (arr. für Piccoloflöte und Chinesisches Orchester)

  1. 6 1. Andante grandioso - Allegretto con gioco
  2. 7 2. Adagio cantabile
  3. 8 3. Finale: Allegretto con gioco
  1. 9 Fair flowers under full moon (arr. für Piccoloflöte und Chinesisches Orchester)
  2. 10 Longing for the spring breeze

EUR 19,99*

Artikel am Lager

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands