+Stücke von Mendelssohn, Foster, Schubert, Faure, Poldini, Glasunow, Strawinsky, Wieniawski, Böhm, Tschaikowsky
  • Künstler: Nathan Milstein, Artur Balsam, Ezio Pinza, Gibner King, Boston Symphony Orchestra, RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra, Charles Munch, Arthur Fiedler
  • Label: Naxos, ADD/m, 1949-53
  • Bestellnummer: 1313371
  • Erscheinungstermin: 25.6.2007


Of Milstein's four recordings of the Tchaikovsky Concerto, the rarest up to now has been this 1953 version recorded in Boston, which, outside the USA, was released only in France. Milstein plays beautifully and the performance also benefits from fiery conducting by Munch, himself a distinguished former violinist. The encores with Arthur Fiedler include three works by Mendelssohn, Schubert and Foster which are unique to Milstein's discography. The disc concludes with two rarities in which Milstein also performs as a vocalist, in effect both playing the violin and duetting with the Italian bass Ezio Pinza in Calm as the night and None but the lonely heart.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35: I. Allegro moderato
  2. 2 Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35: II. Canzonetta: Andante
  3. 3 Violin Concerto In D Major, Op. 35: Iii. Finale: Allegro Vivacissimo
  4. 4 6 Gesange, Op. 34: No. 2. Auf Flugeln des Gesanges (arr. L. Anderson): 6 Songs, Op. 34: No. 2. Auf Flugeln des Gesanges
  5. 5 Old Folks at Home (arr. L. Anderson for violin and orchestra)
  6. 6 Ellens Gesang Iii (Ave Maria!), Op. 52, No. 6, D. 839, "hymne An Die Jungfrau" (Arr. L. Anderson)
  7. 7 Schwanengesang, D. 957: No. 4. Standchen (Serenade) (arr. L. Anderson for violin and orchestra)
  8. 8 Apres un reve, Op. 7, No. 1 (arr. L. Anderson): 3 Songs, Op. 7: No. 1. Apres un reve (arr. L. Anderson for violin and or
  9. 9 7 Marionnettes: No. 2. Poupee valsante (Dancing Doll) (arr. L. Anderson for violin and orchestra)
  10. 10 Meditation in D major, Op. 32
  11. 11 Mavra (arr. S. Dushkin): Mavra: Russian Maiden's Song, "Parasha's Aria" (arr. S. Dushkin for violin and piano)
  12. 12 2 Mazurkas, Op. 19: No. 2. Mazurka in D major, "Dudziarz" (Le menetrier)
  13. 13 Still wie die Nacht (Calm as the Night), Op. 326, No. 27 (text by A. Mattullath): Calm as the Night (Still wie die Nacht
  14. 14 6 Romances, Op. 6: No. 6. None But the Lonely Heart

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)