+Fantasi über ein serbisches Thema op. 6
  • Künstler: Malaysia PO, Bakels
  • Label: BIS, DDD, 2002
  • Bestellnummer: 6041595
  • Erscheinungstermin: 28.4.2005


In the mind of the general music lover, Rimsky-Korsakov is to a large extent associated with two works: Sheherazade and The Flight of the Bumblebee. It is therefore a great pleasure to be able, in our ongoing series of his orchestral music, to present works less well-known but equally deserving of a wider audience. On the present disc, the ebullient Fantasia on Serbian Themes has a certain following, but the two symphonies are less often played. At it's première, Symphony No. 1 was proclaimed the first Russian symphony, perhaps mainly because it employs a Russian folksong for its lyrical second movement. Composed in 1865, when Rimsky-Korsakov was only 21 years old, it was revised some twenty years later, and it is this second version that we hear on this recording. His third symphony was also his last, leaving him to explore the looser orchestral forms of suites, tone poems and fantasias. But already noticeable is his lavish orchestration, a feature which the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra and Kees Bakels bring out with wonderful panache. Reviews of the two previous volumes have been full of praise for this wonderful team, and for the recordings themselves: “The brilliance and realism are simply breathtaking, with a full dynamic range, ideal depth and breadth of soundstage, firm bass, open highs, and a panoramic splendor unrivaled on disc.” (Classics Today. com) and "This is a gorgeous recording, highly recommended. The commitment of the performers is just overwhelming.” (Classical MusicWeb)


FonoForum 10 / 2005: In diesen klangvollen, vitalen Einspielungen sinfonischer Musik von Rimsky-Korssakoff demonstriert das junge, 1998 gegründete Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra aus Kuala Lumpur eine Spielkultur, die auf diesem Niveau nicht zu erwarten war. Das Orchester ist in allen Instrumentengruppen gut besetzt und spielt aus einem kompakten, dabei deutlich gegliederten und gestaffelten Tutti heraus, das die Musik stets lebendig wirken lässt. Kees Bakels gibt Schwung und Energie, so dass die Musik unwillkürlich Züge gewinnt, die man erst mit der Musik von Rimsky-Korssakoffs Schüler Strawinsky identifiziert." PZ: "Bakels führt seine Orchestermusiker recht effektvoll durch die anspruchsvollen Partituren, die es auch Wert wären, im Konzertsaal gehört zu werden."
  • Tracklisting
  1. 1 Symphony, for orchestra in E minor (ii) No. 1, Op. 1: I. Largo assai - Allegro
  2. 2 Symphony, for orchestra in E minor (ii) No. 1, Op. 1: II. Andante tranquillo
  3. 3 Symphony, For Orchestra In E Minor (Ii) No. 1, Op. 1: Iii. Scherzo. Vivace
  4. 4 Symphony, for orchestra in E minor (ii) No. 1, Op. 1: IV. Allegro assai
  5. 5 Fantasia on Serbian Themes (II), for orchestra, Op. 6
  6. 6 Symphony, for orchestra No. 3 (ii) in C major, Op. 32: I. Moderato assai - Allegro
  7. 7 Symphony, for orchestra No. 3 (ii) in C major, Op. 32: II. Scherzo. Vivo
  8. 8 Symphony, For Orchestra No. 3 (Ii) In C Major, Op. 32: Iii. Andante
  9. 9 Symphony, for orchestra No. 3 (ii) in C major, Op. 32: IV. Allegro con spirito

EUR 19,99


EUR 7,99*

Artikel am Lager