+I was glad when they said unto me; Magnificat; Nunc dimittis; Hear my words, ye people; Long since in Egypt's plenteous land aus "Judith";Jerusalem
  • Künstler: Mark Rowlinson, Manchester Cathedral Choir, Christopher Stokes
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2008
  • Bestellnummer: 2129841
  • Erscheinungstermin: 13.7.2009


Sir Hubert Parry composed some of the most masterful and moving choral music of the Victorian and Edwardian eras. His magnificent coronation anthem for Edward VII, I was glad, and his setting of Blake's mystical poem Jerusalem rightly remain famous, while his Magnificat and Nunc dimittis display his debt to Anglican musical traditions. The Songs of Farewell draw psalms and English poetry together into a charming garland, and Long since in Egypt's plenteous land from his oratorio Judith sets the composer's own prayerful text.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 I was glad when they said unto me, Op. 51, "Psalm 122"
  2. 2 The Great Service: Magnificat
  3. 3 The Great Service: Nunc dimittis
  4. 4 Songs of Farewell: No. 1. My soul, there is a country
  5. 5 Songs of Farewell: No. 2. I know my soul hath power to know all things
  6. 6 Songs of Farewell: No. 3. Never weather-beaten sail
  7. 7 Songs of Farewell: No. 4. There is an old belief
  8. 8 Songs of Farewell: No. 5. At the round earth's imagined corners
  9. 9 Songs of Farewell: No. 6. Lord, let me know mine end
  10. 10 Hear my words, ye people
  11. 11 Judith: Judith: Long since in Egypt's plenteous land
  12. 12 Jerusalem

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)