+2 Sonette für Tenor & Orchester; Nocturne; Farewell to Arms
  • Künstler: James Gilchrist, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, David Hill
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2007
  • Bestellnummer: 7457447
  • Erscheinungstermin: 4.4.2008


Quintessentially Finzi, the tender yet radiant Dies natalis, a setting of texts by the 17thcentury poet Thomas Traherne, depicts both the first sensations of a child as it enters the world, and life's tarnishing experience of the innocence of childhood. In Farewell to Arms, a further example of Finzi's enthusiasm for 17th-century poets, the steady but inevitable tramp of time, symbolized by the measured bass and the tenor's sad, arching melody, becomes a poignant symbol for the brevity of life as expressed in lines such as 'O time too swift, O swiftness never ceasing'. Finzi knew all too well that 'Beauty, strength, youth are flowers but fading seen'.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Dies natalis, Op. 8: I. Intrada
  2. 2 Dies natalis, Op. 8: II. Rhapsody
  3. 3 Dies Natalis, Op. 8: Iii. The Rapture
  4. 4 Dies natalis, Op. 8: IV. Wonder
  5. 5 Dies natalis, Op. 8: V. The Salutation
  6. 6 Prelude in F minor, Op. 25
  7. 7 The Fall of the Leaf, Op. 20
  8. 8 2 Sonnets, Op. 12: No. 1. When I consider
  9. 9 2 Sonnets, Op. 12: No. 2. How soon hath time
  10. 10 New Year Music, Op. 7
  11. 11 Farewell to Arms, Op. 9: I. Introduction
  12. 12 Farewell to Arms, Op. 9: II. Aria: His golden locks

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)