+Ponteio für Streichorchester; Frevo
  • Künstler: Sao Paulo SO, Neschling
  • Label: BIS, DDD, 2002
  • Bestellnummer: 4899864
  • Erscheinungstermin: 20.1.2006


Our collaboration with São Paulo Symphony Orchestra has resulted in eight discs so far, including a first volume of the complete Bachianas Brasileiras by Villa-Lobos, as well as introducing lesser-known Brazilian composers such as Camargo Guarnieri, Francisco Mignone and Francisco Braga to a wider audience. The results have been electrifying, as has the critical response to both performances and works: ‘Impossible not to be converted to ‘Brasilianismo’ by this disc … Only joy itself could speak to us in such a marvellously brash manner’ (Fono Forum, about Mignone); ‘As with previous releases in this series, Neschling and his orchestra sound terrific... Terrific sonics, terrific music – Guarnieri merits very serious attention, no doubt about it. More, please.’ (Classics Today. com, about Guarnieri); ‘Under the inspired direction of John Neschling, the achievements of the São Paulo Orchestra are extraordinarily precise and colourful, aided by a recording of particular distinction’ (Répertoire, about Braga).

With the present disc, the turn has come to Claudio Santoro, whose orchestral output is represented by two of his symphonies as well as the shorter pieces Ponteio for strings – perhaps Santoro’s most performed orchestral work – and Frevo, both heavily indebted to Brazilian rhythms and sonorities.


T. Schulz in FonoForum 08 / 06: "Wunderbar orchestriert sind die kurzen Stücke 'Ponteio' und 'Frevo' - letzteres ein veritabler Reißer. Das Sinfonieorchester aus Sao Paulo zeigt sich hörbar inspiriert von der Musik seines Landsmannes und liefert mit dieser Einspielung eine empfehlenswerte Visitenkarte ab."
  • Tracklisting
  • Details
  • Mitwirkende

Sinfonie Nr. 4

  1. 1 1. Allegro
  2. 2 2. Lento - Allegro - Lento
  3. 3 3. Allegro moderato e deciso
  1. 4 Pontei für Streichorchester

Sinfonie Nr. 9

  1. 5 1. Andante - Allegro molto
  2. 6 2. Andante
  3. 7 3. Scherzino
  4. 8 4. Allegro
  1. 9 Frevo

EUR 19,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands