+Mikhoels the Wise (Ausz.);Out of the Whirlwind
*** Milken Archive of American Jewish Music
  • Künstler: Shelton, Mills, Watson, Aler, Pancella, Fisk, Jolley, Seattle SO, College-Conservatory of Musik Wind SO, Schwarz, Winther
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2000/2001
  • Bestellnummer: 7632534
  • Erscheinungstermin: 18.4.2005
  • Serie: Milken Archive of American Jewish Music


Jewish poetry dating back to the time of the Spanish expulsion (1492) is transformed by composer Bruce Adolphe into a captivating song cycle for soprano, guitar, and French horn that revels in Ladino-inspired melodies, exotic new instrumental timbres, and astonishing virtuosity. A complete scene from the opera Mikhoels the Wise includes the haunting "Lullaby of Birobidzhan." Out of the Whirlwind recalls the unforgettable poetry and songs written by members of the Jewish resistance during World War II, as well as by other victims of the Holocaust."
  • Tracklisting
  1. 1 Introduction; I. Noches, Noches - Lucy Shelton
  2. 2 II. Avrix Mi Galanica - Lucy Shelton
  3. 3 Iii. El Mi Querido - Lucy Shelton
  4. 4 IV. Camini Por Altas Torres - Lucy Shelton
  5. 5 V. La Rosa Enflorece - Lucy Shelton
  6. 6 VI. Alta, Alta, Va La Luna - Lucy Shelton
  7. 7 Act I, Scene 4. A Train Station In Birobidzhan At Midnight - Erie Mills
  8. 8 I. Es Brent - John Aler
  9. 9 II. Mayn Mame Hot Gevolt Zayn Af Mayn Khasene - John Aler
  10. 10 Iii. Treblinka - John Aler
  11. 11 IV. Rivkele, Di Shabesdike - John Aler
  12. 12 V. Shtil Di Nakht - John Aler
  13. 13 VI. Ani Ma'amin - John Aler

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)