+Melee Fantasque
  • Künstler: Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Lloyd-Jones
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2004
  • Bestellnummer: 4911704
  • Erscheinungstermin: 15.8.2005


Sir Arthur Bliss, Master of the Queen's Music from 1953, was one of the leading British composers of his generation. The sparkling Mêlée Fantasque (1921), which the composer considered to be his first ballet score, shows the influence of Stravinsky and Dyagilev's Ballets Russes. Checkmate (1937), a collaboration with the great choreographer, Ninette de Valois, is a masterpiece of English ballet, full of striking ideas and colourful effects. This disc offers a rare opportunity to hear the complete ballet, which remains in the repertoire to this day.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Melee Fantasque
  2. 2 Checkmate: I. Prologue - The Players: Moderato maestoso
  3. 3 Checkmate: II. Dance of the Red Pawns: Allegro spirito scherzando
  4. 4 Checkmate: Iii. Dance Of The Four Knights: Allegro Moderato Sempre Robustamente
  5. 5 Checkmate: IV. Entry of the Black Queen: L#istesso tempo
  6. 6 Checkmate: V. The Red Knight#s Mazurka: Moderato giojosamente
  7. 7 Checkmate: VI. Ceremony of the Red Bishops: Largamente (misticamente)
  8. 8 Checkmate: Vii. Entry Of The Red Castles: Allegro Molto Deciso
  9. 9 Checkmate: Viii. Entry Of The Red King And Queen: Grave
  10. 10 Checkmate: XI. The Attack: Allegro impetuoso e brillante
  11. 11 Checkmate: X. The Duel: Maestoso moderato e molto appassionato
  12. 12 Checkmate: X. The Black Queen Dances: Allegro dispettoso
  13. 13 Checkmate: Xii. Finale - Checkmate: Andante Poco Sostenuto - Allegro Vivace E Feroce

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)