Festival Overture; he Poisoned Fountain; Moy Mell; Sonate für 2 Klaviere; The Devil That Tempted St. Anthony; Red Atumn; Hardanger
  • Künstler: Ashley Wass, Martin Roscoe
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2006/2007
  • Bestellnummer: 8658361
  • Erscheinungstermin: 3.9.2007


Although best known for his symphonic poems and symphonies, Bax also wrote prolifically for the piano, his instrument from the first. The two-piano music heard on this recording was written mostly in the late 1920s for the husband and wife piano duet team of Ethel Bartlett and Rae Robertson. It encompasses captivating miniatures such as The Poisoned Fountain, whose repeated piano figuration is evocative of flowing water, the impressionistic Moy Mell (An Irish Tone-Poem) and Hardanger, which emulates the style of Grieg's folk-style piano music. The large-scale Sonata for Two Pianos includes a slow movement which is formally similar to some of the orchestral tone poems, and evokes an ancient Celtic world in a striking parallel with Bax's orchestral The Garden of Fand.


FonoForum 02 / 08: "Was Ashley Wass und Martin Roscoe an Naturbeschwörendem erklingen lassen, ist technisch wie gestalterisch bezwingend und vervollständigt die Reihe ihrer Bax-Einpielungen um ein weiteres Kleinod."
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Festival Overture (arr. for 2 pianos)
  2. 2 The Poisoned Fountain
  3. 3 Moy Mell, "The Pleasant Plain, an Irish Tone Poem"
  4. 4 Sonata for 2 Pianos: I. Molto moderato (quasi andante) - Allegretto scherzando (ma non troppo presto)
  5. 5 Sonata for 2 Pianos: II. Lento espressivo
  6. 6 Sonata For 2 Pianos: Iii. Vivace E Feroce (Ma Non Troppo Presto)
  7. 7 The Devil that Tempted St Anthony
  8. 8 Red Autumn
  9. 9 Hardanger

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)