Overture to a Masque;Concerto Grosso Nr. 1;Pastoral
Fantasia;5 Preludes;Tragic Interlude;Autumn Legend;
Suite of Scottish Dances

  • Künstler: Philip Dukes, Rachael Pankhurst, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, David Lloyd-Jones
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2006/2007
  • Bestellnummer: 9983611
  • Erscheinungstermin: 4.7.2008
  1. 1 Overture to a Masque Start
  2. 2 Concerto grosso No. 1 in B flat major: I. Moderato molto e ritmico Start
  3. 3 Concerto grosso No. 1 in B flat major: II. Adagio con moto (alla Siciliano) Start
  4. 4 Concerto Grosso No. 1 In B Flat Major: Iii. Vivace Start
  5. 5 Pastoral Fantasia Start
  6. 6 5 Preludes: No. 1. Allegretto Start
  7. 7 5 Preludes: No. 2. Andante Start
  8. 8 5 Preludes: No. 3. Tempo di valse Start
  9. 9 5 Preludes: No. 4. Andante con moto Start
  10. 10 5 Preludes: No. 5. Allegro molto Start
  11. 11 Tragic Interlude Start
  12. 12 Autumn Legend Start
  13. 13 Suite of Scottish Dances: I. The Indian Queen Start
  14. 14 Suite of Scottish Dances: II. A Trip to Italy Start
  15. 15 Suite Of Scottish Dances: Iii. Colonel Thornton's Strathspey Start
  16. 16 Suite of Scottish Dances: IV. Reel: The Perthshire Hunt Start
  17. 17 Suite of Scottish Dances: V. Reel: Loch Earn Start
  18. 18 Suite of Scottish Dances: VI. Carleton House Start
  19. 19 Suite Of Scottish Dances: Vii. Miss Ann Carnegie#s Hornpipe Start


William Alwyn composed some fifty works for the orchestra, including five symphonies, a sinfonietta, concertos for flute, oboe, violin, piano, harp, three concerti grossi, and many other descriptive shorter pieces. The seven works on this recording show Alwyn responding in his own individual way to the various challenges presented to him in writing for the orchestra, from the early Five Preludes, in which one can sense already his keen ear for orchestral colour, through to the self-assured scoring of his maturity in the evocative Autumn Legend.

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)