+Fantasia on Christmas Carols
  • Künstler: Janice Watson, Peter Hoare, Stephen Gadd, Guildford Choral Society, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Hilary Davan Wetton
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2007
  • Bestellnummer: 7010644
  • Erscheinungstermin: 29.10.2007


Vaughan Williams's Christmas Cantata Hodie (This Day) is a brilliant mosaic of musical styles set to poetry from the most diverse sources. Texts by Milton, Hardy, and George Herbert reflecting various Christmas experiences are bound together by a narration of the Gospel Nativity story sung in unison by a boys' choir. With its gripping blend of mysticism, heavenly glory and human hope, Hodie flows with a vitality and inventiveness that belie a work written in Vaughan Williams's old age. The Fantasia on Christmas Carols, which incorporates a number of traditional English carols, is notable for the obbligato cello part and for the varied treatment of the choir, which provide an atmospheric choral-orchestral texture.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Fantasia on Christmas Carols
  2. 2 Hodie (This Day): Prologue: Nowell! Nowell!
  3. 3 Hodie (This Day): Narration: Now is the birth of Jesus Christ
  4. 4 Hodie (This Day): Song: It was the winter wild
  5. 5 Hodie (This Day): Narration: And it came to pass in those days
  6. 6 Hodie (This Day): Choral: The blessed son of God
  7. 7 Hodie (This Day): Narration: And there were in the same country
  8. 8 Hodie (This Day): Song: The Oxen
  9. 9 Hodie (This Day): Narration: And the shepherds returned
  10. 10 Hodie (This Day): Pastoral: The shepherds sing
  11. 11 Hodie (This Day): Narration: But Mary kept all these things
  12. 12 Hodie (This Day): Lullaby: Sweet was the song the Virgin sang
  13. 13 Hodie (This Day): Hymn: Bright portals of the sky
  14. 14 Hodie (This Day): Narration: Now when Jesus was born
  15. 15 Hodie (This Day): The March of the 3 Kings: From kingdoms of wisdom
  16. 16 Hodie (This Day): Choral: No sad thought his soul affright
  17. 17 Hodie (This Day): Epilogue: In the beginning was the Word

EUR 7,99*

Artikel am Lager