+Nocturnes op. 16 Nr. 1-3
+Medtner / Heifetz: Fairy Tale op. 20 Nr. 1
  • Künstler: Laurence Kayaleh, Paul Stewart
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2006
  • Bestellnummer: 2870546
  • Erscheinungstermin: 30.7.2007


If the piano works of Nikolay Medtner are finally achieving the recognition they merit, the same cannot yet be said for his compositions for violin and piano. This first of two discs of Medtner's five violin and piano works opens with his last and greatest work for these instruments, Sonata No. 3, 'Epica', completed in 1938. Unashamedly Romantic and distinctly Russian with its frequent allusions to folk-dances and Orthodox liturgical chants, the Sonata reflects both Medtner's recent conversion to the Orthodox faith and his bitter acceptance of permanent exile from his homeland. This bleak and mournful work includes an Andante of heartbreaking beauty. The sombre yet impassioned Three Nocturnes were inspired by Goethe, one of the composer's favourite poets.


Partituren 12 / 07: "Laurence Kayaleh und Paul Stewart haben nun Medtners Gesamtwerk für diese Besetzung auf zwei CDs aufgenommen. Die erste Folge lohnt die Begegnung. In epischer Breite entfaltet sich die dritte Violinsonate in eigentümlich schwermütiger Schönheit."
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Violin Sonata No. 3 in E minor, Op. 57, "Epica": I. Introduzione: Andante meditamente -
  2. 2 Violin Sonata No. 3 in E minor, Op. 57, "Epica": I. Allegro
  3. 3 Violin Sonata No. 3 in E minor, Op. 57, "Epica": II. Scherzo: Allegro molto vivace e laggiero
  4. 4 Violin Sonata No. 3 In E Minor, Op. 57, "epica": Iii. Andante Con Moto
  5. 5 Violin Sonata No. 3 in E minor, Op. 57, "Epica": IV. Finale: Allegro molto
  6. 6 3 Nocturnes, Op. 16: Nocturne No. 1 in D minor
  7. 7 3 Nocturnes, Op. 16: Nocturne No. 2 in G minor
  8. 8 3 Nocturnes, Op. 16: Nocturne No. 3 in C minor
  9. 9 2 Fairy Tales, Op. 20: No. 1 in B flat minor (arr. J. Heifetz for violin and piano)

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)