Returning waves op. 9; A sorrowful tale op. 13; Eternal Songs op. 10
  • Künstler: New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Antoni Wit
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2006
  • Bestellnummer: 5104992
  • Erscheinungstermin: 2.10.2008


Mieczyslaw Karlowicz's six symphonic poems, composed between 1904-09, are the pinnacles of a career tragically ended when he perished in an avalanche during a solitary mountain hike. His fame as one of the outstanding Polish composers of his generation rests on these highly original, lushly-scored masterpieces, the first, second and fifth of which are included on this second volume. Bitterly criticised by contemporary Polish critics as examples of 'modernist chaos', these splendid Neo-Romantic works show both Karlowicz's intense admiration for Wagner, Tchaikovsky and Richard Strauss, and the scale of his own achievement. Volume 1 is available on Naxos 8.570452.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Powracajace fale (Returning Waves), Op. 9
  2. 2 Smutna opowiesc, "Preludia do wiecznosci" (A Sorrowful Tale, "Preludes to Eternity"), Op. 13
  3. 3 Odwieczne piesni (Eternal Songs), Op. 10: I. Piesn o wiekuistej tesknocie (Song of Eternal Longing)
  4. 4 Odwieczne piesni (Eternal Songs), Op. 10: II. Piesn o milosci i o smierci (Song of Love and Death)
  5. 5 Odwieczne Piesni (Eternal Songs), Op. 10: Iii. Piesn O Wszechbycie (Song Of Eternity)

EUR 7,99*

versandfertig innerhalb von 1-3 Tagen
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)