+Phantasie Trio a-moll; Berceuse für Violine & Klavier; Cavatina für Violine & Klavier; Bagatelle für Violine & Klavier; The Holy Boy für Violine & Klavier
  • Künstler: Gould Piano Trio
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2008
  • Bestellnummer: 9586841
  • Erscheinungstermin: 25.5.2009


Naxos's acclaimed recordings of the music of John Ireland continue with this disc of the three piano trios and music for violin and piano. The tuneful Phantasie Trio of 1908 was one of the first of his works to bring him to public notice. The Second Piano Trio (1917) reflected Ireland's intensely emotional response to World War 1, while his Third Piano Trio (1938) returned for its inspiration and musical material to his earlier Clarinet Trio of 1912-13, withdrawn shortly after its composition, to which Ireland added a new slow movement of great lyrical beauty. The shorter pieces for violin and piano highlight Ireland's melodic gifts.
  • Tracklisting
  1. 1 Phantasie Trio in A minor (1908)
  2. 2 Piano Trio No. 2 in E (1917)
  3. 3 Piano Trio No. 3 in E (1938)
  4. 4 Berceuse for violin and piano (1902)
  5. 5 Cavatina for violin and piano (1904)
  6. 6 Bagatelle for violin and piano (1911)
  7. 7 The Holy Boy for violin and piano (1913/19)

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)