• Fine Arts Quartet - Four American Quartets
  • CD i **;


Evans: Streichquartett Nr. 1
+Glass: Streichquartett Nr. 2
+Antheil: Streichquartett Nr. 3
+Herrmann: Echoes für Streichquartett
  • Künstler: Fine Arts Quartet
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2007
  • Bestellnummer: 5300939
  • Erscheinungstermin: 4.7.2008


This recording gathers four string quartets by American composers who are widely divergent in style and manner, and who have made a distinctive and personal contribution to this endlessly re-inventive format. Ralph Evans is more familiar as a performer than composer. Finally completed in 1995, his First String Quartet is written in a non-derivative style, with tuneful melodies, lively counterpoint and piquant harmonies. Philip Glass has completed five mature quartets, his Second Quartet deriving from a theatrical presentation of Samuel Beckett's prose poem Company. The self-styled 'bad boy of American music', George Antheil wrote three string quartets, the third of which is permeated by a folk-music ambience. Best remembered for his film scores, Bernard Herrmann had not released a concert work for 25 years when he wrote Echoes. Its title applies to the thematic connections unobtrusively linking the ten sections of this one-movement piece.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 String Quartet No. 1: I. Moderato
  2. 2 String Quartet No. 1: II. Andante espressivo
  3. 3 String Quartet No. 1: Iii. Allegro Scherzando
  4. 4 String Quartet No. 2, "Company": I. quarter note = 96
  5. 5 String Quartet No. 2, "Company": II. quarter note = 160
  6. 6 String Quartet No. 2, "company": Iii. Quarter Note = 96
  7. 7 String Quartet No. 2, "Company": IV. quarter note = 160
  8. 8 String Quartet No. 3: I. Allegretto
  9. 9 String Quartet No. 3: II. Largo
  10. 10 String Quartet No. 3: Iii. Quasi Presto (Scherzo)
  11. 11 String Quartet No. 3: IV. Allegro giocoso
  12. 12 Echoes

EUR 7,99*

versandfertig innerhalb von 1-3 Tagen
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)