+Die glückliche Hand op. 18; Bläserquintett op. 26
  • Künstler: Mark Beesley, Simon Joly Chorale, New York Woodwind Quintet, Philharmonia Orchestra, Robert Craft
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2000
  • Bestellnummer: 1940875
  • Erscheinungstermin: 4.4.2008


The little-known Second Chamber Symphony ought to be the most popular of Schoenberg's later masterpieces. Neither "atonal" nor "twelve-tone", it contrasts a lush, melodious, dramatic first movement with a rapid and richly polyphonic second movement. Die glückliche Hand is a pantomime for two silent actors and one solo singer, "the Man". The music is very compressed, and its two middle scenes, apart from the lines by the Man, are purely orchestral. Realising that a work of 38 minutes in atonal idiom for five winds might be less audience-friendly than any of his music heretofore, Schoenberg imparted his Wind Quintet with a display of instrumental virtuosity that surpassed anything even he had ever attempted."


Stereo 09 / 08: "Craft macht eine Nähe zum Neoklassizismus spürbar, die mit solcher Intensität bislang noch nicht erfahrbar war."
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Chamber Symphony No. 2, Op. 38: I. Adagio
  2. 2 Chamber Symphony No. 2, Op. 38: II. Con fuoco
  3. 3 Die gluckliche Hand, Op. 18: Scene 1: Still, o schweige
  4. 4 Die gluckliche Hand, Op. 18: Scene 2: Ja, o ja! Das Bluhen, o Sehnsucht
  5. 5 Die gluckliche Hand, Op. 18: Scene 3: Das kann man einfacher!
  6. 6 Die gluckliche Hand, Op. 18: Scene 4: Musstest du's wieder erleben
  7. 7 Wind Quintet, Op. 26: I. Schwungvoll
  8. 8 Wind Quintet, Op. 26: II. Anmutig und heiter: Scherzando
  9. 9 Wind Quintet, Op. 26: Iii. Etwas Langsam (Poco Adagio)
  10. 10 Wind Quintet, Op. 26: IV. Rondo

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)