Quate: Light of Sothis
+Creston: Saxophon-Sonate op. 19
+Rorem: Picnic on the Marne
+Hartley: Bariton-Saxophon-Sonate
+Hovhaness: Suite op. 291
+Muczynski: Alt-Saxophon-Sonate op. 29
+Wiedoeft: Valse vanite
  • Künstler: Alex Mitchel (Saxophone),Neil Hornsby (Gitarre), Jeremy Limb (Klavier)
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2004
  • Bestellnummer: 3535515
  • Erscheinungstermin: 7.11.2008


The saxophone is commonly thought of as the quintessential American instrument, not least for the pivotal role it has played in jazz during key stages of the genre's evolution. Its acceptance in classical music has been more gradual, with, once again, American composers playing a major part. From Ned Rorem's soulful Picnic on the Marne to Alan Hovhaness' wistful and evocative Suite for Alto Saxophone and Guitar, via the works of lesser-known composers such as Amy Quate and Rudy Wiedoeft, the divergent idioms of the works on this disc reflect those of the composers, as well as the artists for whom they were created.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Light of Sothis: I. Grace
  2. 2 Light of Sothis: II. Passion
  3. 3 Light Of Sothis: Iii. Faith
  4. 4 Saxophone Sonata, Op. 19: I. With vigor
  5. 5 Saxophone Sonata, Op. 19: II. With tranquility
  6. 6 Saxophone Sonata, Op. 19: Iii. With Gaiety
  7. 7 Picnic on the Marne: I. Driving from Paris
  8. 8 Picnic on the Marne: II. A Bend in the River
  9. 9 Picnic On The Marne: Iii. Bal Musette
  10. 10 Picnic on the Marne: IV. Vermouth
  11. 11 Picnic on the Marne: V. A Tense Discussion
  12. 12 Picnic on the Marne: VI. Making Up
  13. 13 Picnic on the Marne: VI. The Ride Back to Town
  14. 14 Baritone Saxophone Sonata: I. Andante - Allegro - Andante - Allegro
  15. 15 Baritone Saxophone Sonata: II. Adagio
  16. 16 Baritone Saxophone Sonata: Iii. Allegro Molto
  17. 17 Suite, Op. 291: I. Adagio espressivo
  18. 18 Suite, Op. 291: II. Senza misura - Allegro, Allegro vivace
  19. 19 Suite, Op. 291: Iii. Andante Espressivo
  20. 20 Alto Saxophone Sonata, Op. 29: I. Andante maestoso
  21. 21 Alto Saxophone Sonata, Op. 29: II. Allegro energico
  22. 22 Valse Vanite: Valse vanite

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)