• Künstler: Charlotte Ellett, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Lloyd-Jones
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2004
  • Bestellnummer: 3074097
  • Erscheinungstermin: 31.1.2005


By the time his eagerly-awaited First Symphony appeared in 1950, Alan Rawsthorne had already established a singular voice with his Symphonic Studies (Naxos 8.554763), Concerto for String Orchestra (8.553567), First Piano Concerto (8.555959) and First Violin Concerto (8.554240). The First Symphony is an energetic, inventive and superbly scored work. The Second Symphony, 'A Pastoral Symphony', is no programme piece but rather a general expression of the pleasures of life in the country, even if, beneath the surface of the music harsher, melancholy undertones can be sensed. The Third Symphony, returns to the turbulence of the First Symphony, now tempered by the subtle colouration and gentler expression of the Second. At its heart lies the haunting Sarabande slow movement, one of Rawsthorne's finest creations.
  • Tracklisting
  • Mitwirkende
  1. 1 Symphony No. 1: I. Allegro tempestuoso
  2. 2 Symphony No. 1: II. Allegro
  3. 3 Symphony No. 1: Iii. Allegro Non Troppo
  4. 4 Symphony No. 1: IV. Poco maestoso - Allegro risoluto
  5. 5 Symphony No. 2, "A Pastoral Symphony": I. Allegro piacevole
  6. 6 Symphony No. 2, "A Pastoral Symphony": II. Poco lento e liberamente
  7. 7 Symphony No. 2, "a Pastoral Symphony": Iii. Country Dance (Allegro Giocoso)
  8. 8 Symphony No. 2, "A Pastoral Symphony": IV. Andante
  9. 9 Symphony No. 3: I. Allegro
  10. 10 Symphony No. 3: II. Alla sarabanda (Andantino)
  11. 11 Symphony No. 3: Iii. Scherzo (Allegro Molto)
  12. 12 Symphony No. 3: IV. Allegro risoluto

EUR 7,99*

nur noch 1 Stück am Lager. Danach versandfertig innerhalb einer Woche (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)