The Curlew;Lillygay;Peterisms (Set 1 & 2);

*** English Song Serien Vol.4
  • Künstler: Adrian Thompson, Christopher Maltman, John Constable, Duke Quartet
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 1997
  • Bestellnummer: 4601287
  • Erscheinungstermin: 13.4.2004
  1. 1 The Curlew: O Curlew, cry no more in the air Start
  2. 2 The Curlew: Pale brows, still hands and dim hair Start
  3. 3 The Curlew: I cried when the moon was murmuring to the birds Start
  4. 4 The Curlew: Interlude Start
  5. 5 The Curlew: I wander by the edge of this desolate lake Start
  6. 6 Lillygay: The Distracted Maid Start
  7. 7 Lillygay: Burd Ellen and Young Tamlane Start
  8. 8 Lillygay: Rantum Tantum Start
  9. 9 Peter Warlock's Fancy Start
  10. 10 Peterisms, Set I: Chopcherry Start
  11. 11 Peterisms, Set I: A Sad Song Start
  12. 12 Peterisms, Set I: Rutterkin Start
  13. 13 My gostly fader Start
  14. 14 Bright is the ring of words Start
  15. 15 Saudades: Along the stream Start
  16. 16 Saudades: Take, O take those lips away Start
  17. 17 Saudades: Heraclitus Start
  18. 18 The Cloths of Heaven: The cloths of Heaven Start
  19. 19 The Frostbound Wood: The frostbound wood Start
  20. 20 Bethlehem Down Start
  21. 21 Sweet and twenty Start
  22. 22 And wilt thou leave me thus? Start
  23. 23 Mr. Belloc's Fancy: Mr Belloc's Fancy Start
  24. 24 Peterisms, Set II: Roister Doister Start
  25. 25 Peterisms, Set II: Spring Start
  26. 26 Peterisms, Set II: Lusty Juventus Start
  27. 27 The Bachelor Start
  28. 28 Away to Twiver Start
  29. 29 Captain Stratton's Fancy Start


The programme of this release, previously available on the Collins Classics label, reflects the wide variety of vocal styles and moods of Warlock's music. The centrepiece is Warlock's heartfelt and atmospheric setting of W. B. Yeats's The Curlew. Set beside this are Warlock's boisterous drinking songs, as well as a number of more sober individual songs. This programme is an excellent introduction to one of the most interesting English composers of the first half of the last century.

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)