• Künstler: Voces Cantabiles, Barnaby Smith
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2007
  • Bestellnummer: 1124699
  • Erscheinungstermin: 1.2.2008
  1. 1 Magnificat Start
  2. 2 First Great Service: Venite Start
  3. 3 First Great Service: Te Deum Start
  4. 4 Responds for the Dead: Peccantem me, quotidie Start
  5. 5 First Great Service: Benedictus Start
  6. 6 Responds for the Dead: Libera me, Domine Start
  7. 7 First Great Service: Creed Start
  8. 8 Responds for the Dead: Credo quod redemptor Start
  9. 9 First Great Service: Magnificat Start
  10. 10 First Great Service: Nunc dimittis Start
  11. 11 Ave Maria Start


This recording aims to provide Robert Parsons, who died tragically in his forties, with a memorial service he never received and aid his return to a place alongside the greatest English Renaissance composers. Movements from the First Great Service, scored for two antiphonal choirs, provide the core of this 'remembrance service' for Robert Parsons. In scale and polyphonic grandeur the work maintains the old Catholic tradition, while making use of the new Protestant liturgy with its revolutionary setting of the 1549 English texts. Interspersed between movements of the First Great Service are a number of pieces taken from the Responds for the Dead, set to Latin texts. The Magnificat, which opens this recording, is the largest-scale single work that Parsons wrote.

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands