+Klavierkonzert Nr. 1;Midsummer Ale op. 73

  • Künstler: Peter Donohoe, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, David Lloyd-Jones
  • Label: Naxos, DDD, 2006
  • Bestellnummer: 9215775
  • Erscheinungstermin: 3.9.2007
  1. 1 Midsummer Ale Overture, Op. 73 Start
  2. 2 Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 34: I. Allegro con brio Start
  3. 3 Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 34: II. Theme and variations Start
  4. 4 Piano Concerto No. 1 In B Flat Major, Op. 34: Iii. Finale: Rondo Start
  5. 5 Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 2: I. Lento e grave Start
  6. 6 Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 2: II. Scherzo: Allegro Start
  7. 7 Symphony No. 1 In D Minor, Op. 2: Iii. Lento Start
  8. 8 Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 2: IV. Finale: Allegro molto Start


The English composer John Gardner has been largely neglected, in spite of his prolific output. His career began with great promise before the war, to be resumed gradually afterwards, but seldom with the success he seemed to deserve. This recording should help to re-establish his reputation with two relatively early works written in the post-war years, the Symphony No. 1, "a superbly crafted work... by a subtle and imaginative orchestrator" (Paul Conway / Musicweb-International) and the Piano Concerto No. 1, both premièred by Barbirolli. The Piano Concerto here receives only its third performance. Midsummer Ale is a classic piece of British light music with delightfully catchy melodies."

EUR 7,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands