+Salve Regina RV 617;Laudate Dominum
RV 606;In exitu Israel RV 604;Nisi Dominus
RV 608

  • Künstler: Susan Gritton, Nathalie Stutzmann, Hilary Summers, Alexandra Gibson, The King's Consort & Choir, Robert King
  • Label: Hyperion, DDD, 00
  • Bestellnummer: 3351978
  • Erscheinungstermin: 19.1.2001

Beatus vir RV 795

  1. 1 Beatus vir. Allegro Start
  2. 2 Gloria et divitiae. Allegro Start
  3. 3 Beatus vir Start
  4. 4 Exortum est in tenebris. Andante molto Start
  5. 5 Beatus vir Start
  6. 6 Jucundus homo. Allegro Start
  7. 7 Beatus vir Start
  8. 8 Im memoriam aeterna. Andante molto Start
  9. 9 Beatus vir Start
  10. 10 Paratum cor ejus. Andante Start
  11. 11 Beatus vir Start
  12. 12 Dispersit, dedit pauperibus. Andante Start
  13. 13 Gloria Patri, et Filio. Allegro Start
  14. 14 Peccator videbit. Largo Start
  15. 15 Gloria Patri, et Filio. Allegro Start

Salve Regina RV 617e

  1. 16 Salve Regina. Andante Start
  2. 17 Ad te clamamus. Allegro Start
  3. 18 Eis ergo. Allegro Start
  4. 19 Et Jesum Start
  1. 20 Laudate Dominum RV 606 Start
  2. 21 In exitu Israel RV 604 Start

Nisi Dominus RV 608

  1. 22 Nisi Dominus. Allegro Start
  2. 23 Vanum est vobis. Largo Start
  3. 24 Surgite. Presto - Adagio Start
  4. 25 Cum dederit. Andante Start
  5. 26 Sicut sagittae. Allegro Start
  6. 27 Beatus vir. Andante Start
  7. 28 Gloria. Larghetto Start
  8. 29 Sicut erat in principio. Allegro Start
  9. 30 Amen. Allegro Start



The first work on volume 6 is a major, rarely heard Vivaldi choral work, the setting of Beatus Vir, RV795. Alongside typically ebullient writing for chorus and orchestra, the work presents astonishing solo writing. Susan Gritton's soprano, it almost goes without saying, is glorious, but Vivaldi's girls at the Pietà also included special altos—youngsters who were trained to sing unusually low: Beatus Vir presents some of the most remarkable of all this writing, including one aria—Peccator videbit, performed by Hilary Summers—which is perhaps the lowest alto aria ever written! Alongside such peculiarities, there is much wonderful music, not least of all a rich trio In memoria aeterna.

Also on the disc come two splendid choral psalm settings, In exitu Israel and Laudate Pueri. Susan Gritton sings a gloriously lyrical solo motet Salve Regina, as devout and ardent a religious setting as Vivaldi ever wrote. Gritton is surely now one of the great Vivaldi singers of our generation.

The remarkable French alto Nathalie Stutzmann, after a string of highly acclaimed recordings for other labels, makes a long-awaited début on Hyperion singing the famous setting of Nisi Dominus. Her singing is full of colour, variety and nuance, also demonstrating the astonishing coloratura and breath control which has made her one of France's most sought-after stars.


‘Bravo to the King’s Consort, whose skilful performances are bringing this important repertoire to the attention of listeners as well as other performers’ (Schwann, USA)

‘Richly rewarding music, wonderfully performed. I’m eager to dive into Volumes 1 to 5’ (Opera News, USA)'Richly rewarding music, wonderfully performed' (Opera News)

'The performances fully live up to the remarkably high standards that informed the previous issues. A fine addition to one of the most rewarding series currently in progress' (Fanfare)

'Top marks again to King for his choice of soloists – in Stutzmann, above all, we have one of today’s best baroque voices' (Gramophone)


J. Hillebrand in FonoForum 5 / 01: "Das Ereignis dieser Platte ist die erstmalig in der Serie mitwirkende Nathalie Stutzmann. Mit ihrer voluminösen, dunkel ge- färbten Stimme, extrem reduziertem Vibrato und einer wandlungsfähigen, doch nie übertrieben dramatisierenden Textausdeutung adelt sie das frühe "Nisi Dominus", Vivaldis ambitionierteste Psalmkomposition für Solo- gesang."

EUR 19,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands