• NAXOS AUDIO BOOKS, 02/2008
  • Einband: CD
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ISBN-13: 9789626348604
  • Bestell-Nr.: 3075537
  • Gewicht: 91 g
  • Maße: 138 x 123 mm
  • Stärke: 9 mm
  • Spielzeit: 77:00 Min.
  • Erscheinungstermin: 29.2.2008

  • Achtung: Artikel ist nicht in deutscher Sprache!
Read by Oliver Ford Davies and Jasper Britton


William Wordsworth (1770–1850) was born in Cockermouth, in the Lake District. His Lyrical Ballads, written in collaboration with Coleridge, was published in 1798, and shortly afterwards he settled in Dove Cottage, Grasmere, with his sister Dorothy. Inspired in his early manhood by the French Revolution, he grew disillusioned with revolutionary politics and in later life became decidedly conservative. He left a vast body of work, ranging from delicately simple lyrics to deeply meditative odes – his most fully-realised ambitious work being The Prelude. This collection is read by Oliver Ford Davies and Jasper Britton.


The Great Poets series launched in 2007 has proved very popular, offering many of the best-loved poems by popular poets in an inexpensive 1 CD collection ? and well read by leading actors. This anthology of the leading ?Lake Poet?, with poems that many can still recite, will undoubtedly become a best-seller. The collection includes I wondered lonely as a cloud, I travelled among unknown men, My heart leaps up and Tintern Abbey.

Biografie (William Wordsworth (1770-1850))

William Wordsworth (1770-1850) was one of the most influential of the Romantic poets. He grew up in the Lake District, and was educated at Cambridge. His friendship with S.T. Coleridge led to their joint project, "Lyrical Ballads", which was published in 1798. At the same time, Wordsworth began work on what was to become "The Prelude", which was first published three months after his death, in 1850. He became poet laureate in 1843.

EUR 6,68*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)