(Danses & Divertissements). Taffanel: Bläserquintett in g
+Poulenc: Sextett für Klavier & Bläserquintett
+Jolivet: Serenade für Oboe & Bläserquintett
+Tomasi: 5 Danses Profanes & Sacrees für Bläserquintett
Tonformat: stereo & multichannel (Hybrid)
  • Künstler: Stephen Hough, Philharmonisches Bläserquintett Berlin
  • Label: BIS, DDD, 2006
  • Bestellnummer: 7547588
  • Erscheinungstermin: 19.5.2009


One of the world’s foremost wind quintets meets one of today’s finest pianists in a work that many consider to be one of the best examples of a work for piano and winds: Poulenc’s Sextet. The composer himself called it ‘a homage to the wind instruments which I have loved from the moment I began composing’, and its cheeky character, virtuosic drive and catchy melodies are typical of his other writing for wind instruments. Poulenc also supplied the piano with a crucial – and virtuosic – part, however, including jazzy elements typical of the period as well as emotional outbursts in the manner of Rachmaninov. Stephen Hough and the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet have enjoyed a long collaboration. On disc this has resulted in recordings of the quintets by Mozart and Beethoven, a release which made the reviewer on the website classicstodayfrance. com surrender unconditionally: ‘the adjective which comes to mind while listening is one of excruciating banality, and yet it says everything: this disc is profoundly beautiful’. Poulenc’s sextet is framed by three other French works, and from the late-Romantic Quintet by Taffanel to the last of Tomasi’s Cinq Danses (a ‘War Dance’ marked ‘wildly frenetically’), the players of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra – who began performing as a group more than 20 years ago – once again demonstrate their supreme capacity not only on their individual instruments, but as ensemble players.
  • Tracklisting
  • Details
  • Mitwirkende

Quintett für Bläser g-moll (1878)

  1. 1 1. Allegro con moto
  2. 2 2. Andante
  3. 3 3. Vivace

Sextett für Klavier und Bläserquintett (1932-39)

  1. 4 1. Allegro vivace - Trés vite et emporté
  2. 5 2. Divertissement: Andantino
  3. 6 3. Finale: Prestissimo

Sérénade für Oboe und Bläserquintett (1945)

  1. 7 1. Cantilène: Moderato
  2. 8 2. Caprice: Scherzando
  3. 9 3. Intermède: Moderato
  4. 10 4. Marche burlesque: Allegro

Cinq danses profanes et sacrées (für Bläserquintett) (1948)

  1. 11 Nr. 1 Danse agreste: Allegretto
  2. 12 Nr. 2 Danse profane: Scherzando
  3. 13 Nr. 3 Danse sacrée: Lent
  4. 14 Nr. 4 Danse nuptiale: Scherzando
  5. 15 Nr. 5 Danse guerrière: Sauvagement frénétique

EUR 19,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands