Werke von Lebell, Nelson, Earnshaw, Stutchewsky, Carse,
Purcell Warren, Graves, Squire, Boccherini, Bryars, Trowell,
Sibelius, Dyson, Bridge, Beach, Prosper Marie, Goltermann,
Poulenc, Tuby, Faure, Popper, Mendelssohn, Cassado, Blake,
Mustonen, Hough
+Isserlis: The Haunted House (Narrator: Simon Callow)

  • Künstler: Steven Isserlis, Stephen Hough (Klavier)
  • Label: BIS, DDD, 2005
  • Bestellnummer: 5677524
  • Erscheinungstermin: 21.4.2006
  1. 1 Berceuse Orientale, for cello & piano Start
  2. 2 Mad as a Hatter, for cello & piano Start
  3. 3 Tarantella, for cello & piano Start
  4. 4 Six Israeli Melodies, for cello & piano: Kinnereth (Tune: Haninah Karchevsky, arr. Stutchewsky) Start
  5. 5 Six Israeli Melodies, for cello & piano: Wanderer's Song (Oriental Melody, arr. Stutchewsky) Start
  6. 6 A Merry Dance, for cello & piano Start
  7. 7 A Sunday Evening in Autumn, for cello & piano Start
  8. 8 Cradle Song, for cello & piano Start
  9. 9 The Swans Glide on the Bishop's Palace Moat, for cello & piano Start
  10. 10 Danse rustique, for cello & piano Start
  11. 11 Minuet in A major, arrangement (after String Quintet in E major, Op.11/5 [aka Op. 13/5], G. 275) Start
  12. 12 With Miriam by the River, for cello & piano Start
  13. 13 12 Easy Pieces, for cello & piano: Gavotte Start
  14. 14 Tempo di valse (Lulu Waltz), for cello & piano in F sharp minor, JS 194 Start
  15. 15 Work(s): Melody Start
  16. 16 Spring Song, for violin (or cello) & piano in G major, H. 104/2 Start
  17. 17 Berceuse for violin & piano, Op. 40/2 Start
  18. 18 La cinquantaine, for piano 'The Golden Wedding' Start
  19. 19 La Foi, for cello & piano Start
  20. 20 Work(s): Serenade Start
  21. 21 Serenade, for cello & piano Start
  22. 22 Berceuse, for violin & piano (or orchestra) in D major, Op. 16 Start
  23. 23 Gavotte for cello & piano in D Minor, Op 23 Start
  24. 24 Song Without Words for cello & piano in D major, Op. 109 Start
  25. 25 Requiebros for cello & piano Start
  26. 26 Archangel's Lullaby, for cello & piano Start
  27. 27 Frogs Dancing on Water Lilies, for cello & piano (or string orchestra) Start
  28. 28 Angelic Song, for cello & piano Start
  29. 29 Angelic Dance, for cello & piano Start
  30. 30 The Haunted House, for cello & piano Start


In this recital of known and unknown gems from the repertoire for aspiring cellists, Steven Isserlis and Stephen Hough make full use of their consummate musicianship in carving each of the 30 tracks into beautiful miniatures. Pieces that cello students have played – and their teachers (not to mention parents) have heard – over and over again stand out as fresh as if they were composed for this occasion.

The programme ranges progressively from Ludwig Lebell’s Berceuse, which only employs open strings, to Cassadó’s Requiebros, described in Isserlis’s own liner notes as 'something holding real challenges for the young cellist (and indeed for the fast-aging one!)'.

It’s not only the level of technical difficulties that varies: the styles are almost as many as the pieces themselves. A number of different idioms – English, French, Hungarian and Israeli, Victorian, Baroque and contemporary – are all conveyed in accents that ring completely true.

This unique disc was inspired by after-dinner serenades at Steven Isserlis’s home, where his son Gabriel would perform his current cello assignments, sometimes accompanied by Hough. (Gabriel’s contribution to the enterprise is attested to by the final section on the disc, Gabriel’s Corner, made up of works composed for him by, among others, Isserlis and Hough themselves.) Isserlis writes: 'Eventually, we decided that we wanted to play some of the pieces ourselves, for our own sakes as much as for those of the children we were hoping to inspire – and thus this album was born.' The performers’ enjoyment certainly shines through during the full 81 minutes of the disc – an enjoyment that will be shared by every listener, whatever his or her connection to the noble art of cello playing. A bonus, in the form of actor Simon Callow narrating a ghost story with a twist over the sound effects of Steven Isserlis’s The Haunted House, makes the disc a truly special experience.

EUR 19,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands