+Four Images;Cretan Feast, Greek Dance c-moll

  • Künstler: Iceland SO, Fidetzis
  • Label: BIS, DDD, 2003
  • Bestellnummer: 7588853
  • Erscheinungstermin: 10.1.2006
  1. 1 The Sea, ballet suite: 1. Prelude. Moderato maestoso Start
  2. 2 The Sea, ballet suite: 2. The Child of the Sea. Andantino Start
  3. 3 The Sea, ballet suite: 3. Dance of the Waves. Allegro molto vivace Start
  4. 4 The Sea, ballet suite: 4. The Trawl. Moderato andante Start
  5. 5 The Sea, ballet suite: 5. The Little Fish. Allegretto grazioso Start
  6. 6 The Sea, ballet suite: 6. The Dolphins. Allegro (molto) poco scherzoso Start
  7. 7 The Sea, ballet suite: 7. Nocturne. Andante molto - Calmo erpressivo Start
  8. 8 The Sea, ballet suite: 8. The Preparation of the Mermaid. Moderato sotenuto Start
  9. 9 The Sea, ballet suite: 9. Dance of the Mermaid. Allegro molto vivace (furioso) Start
  10. 10 The Sea, ballet suite: 10. The Tale of Alexander the Great Start
  11. 11 The Sea, ballet suite: 11. Finale. Hymn to the Sea Allegro vivace, poco maestoso, poco calmo e alla breve Start
  12. 12 Images (4), for orchestra: 1. The Harvest. Moderato Start
  13. 13 Images (4), for orchestra: 2. The Sowing. Andante Start
  14. 14 Images (4), for orchestra: 3. The Vintage. Allegro Start
  15. 15 Images (4), for orchestra: 4. The Grape Stomping. Molto vivace Start
  16. 16 Cretan Feast (fête crétoise), for orchestra Start
  17. 17 Greek Dances (36) for orchestra, Books 1-3, Op. 11: Greek Dance in C minor Start


In accounts of Skalkottas's life, the point is often made that the young man who was so highly thought of by his teacher Schoenberg in cosmopolitan Berlin, by returning to Greece in 1933 closed the door on a brilliant international career as a composer. In his introduction to the present disc, Byron Fidetzis (appearing on BIS for the first time) makes a case for the reasons Skalkottas (1904-49) may have had for remaining in Greece in spite of his difficult situation, emphasizing the composer's need to stay in touch and in dialogue with his cultural heritage. This same wish may also have been the motivation for Skalkottas’s “re-discovery” of tonality, leading him to compose at least a large part of his later orchestral works in a more traditional idiom. Thus, in Fidetzis’s words, Skalkottas’s “development ran in a direction quite contrary to that of other important Greek composers of his generation.” The works on the present disc are all examples of this – they are all tonal, and all with strong Greek associations. The Sea in his ballet suite is really the Aegean, with its fishermen and dolphins, and the rural scenes in the Four Images could have taken place in any Greek village. This, our seventh disc of Skalkottas’s orchestral music, also includes a curiosity: the composer's very first orchestral score, an orchestration of Fête crétoise by the great Greek conductor Dmitris Mitropoulos.


"All of the music here is extremely well played and conducted. It's obvious that Byron Fidetzis finds the idiom comfortable, and the Iceland Symphony sounds terrific thanks to typically resplendent BIS engineering. This one's a no-brainer: buy it." ClassicsToday. com 2006

" The Iceland Symphony Orchestra, which by now has plenty if Skalkottas under its belt, plays with entirely idiomatic enthusiasm, in lively, colourful performances in top-notch sound." International Record Review 04 / 2006


FonoForum 07 / 06: "Eine griechische Pastete aus Meeresfrüchten, vom Isländischen Sinfonieorchester appetitstimulierend serviert."

EUR 19,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands