• Bassic Instincts - Popular Works for Low Strings
  • CD i **;


Arrangements für tiefe Streicher.
Mussorgsky: Bilder einer Ausstellung
+Schumann: Träumerei
+Rachmaninoff: Vocalise op. 34, 14
+Faure: Sicilienne
+Debussy: Le Petit Negre
+Rimsky-Korssakoff: Hummelflug
+Monti: Csardas

  • Künstler: Sinfonia Lahte Cello & Bass Ensemble
  • Label: BIS, DDD, 2003
  • Bestellnummer: 4074067
  • Erscheinungstermin: 28.6.2004
  1. 1 Promenade Start
  2. 2 No. 1. Gnomus Start
  3. 3 Promenade
  4. 4 No. 2. ll Vecchio Castello Start
  5. 5 Promenade
  6. 6 No. 3. Tuileries (Disputes D'Enfants Apres Jeux)
  7. 7 No. 4. Bydlo Start
  8. 8 Promenade
  9. 9 No. 5. Ballet Of The Unhatched Chicks Start
  10. 10 No. 6. Samuel Goldenberg And Schmuyle (Two Polish Jews - Rich And Poor) Start
  11. 11 Promenade Start
  12. 12 No. 7. Limoges. Le Marche Start
  13. 13 No. 8. Catacombae (Sepulcrum Romanum) Start
  14. 14 Cum Mortuis In Lingua Mortua Start
  15. 15 No. 9. The Hut On Fowl's Legs (Baba - Yaga) Start
  16. 16 No. 10. The Great Gate Of Kiev Start
  17. 17 Traumerei Start
  18. 18 Vocalise Start
  19. 19 Sicilienne Start
  20. 20 Le Petit Negre Start
  21. 21 The Flight Of The Bumble Bee
  22. 22 Csardas Start


Arrangements by Illka Pälli
On this disc, the cello section of the Lahti Symphony Orchestra have given free rein to their instincts in a programme consisting of fresh arrangements of some of the best-loved works in classical music. Have you ever imagined a version of Pictures at an Exhibition for six cellos and four double basses?

If the answer is yes, this is the CD you’ve been waiting for – and if not, it will be even more of a revelation! The arrangement by Ilkka Pälli, cellist and leader of the ensemble, is highly accomplished, using many effects that create unexpected results: The Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks for instance – or the quarrelling children in Tuileries – is rendered with astounding delicacy, while the Great Gate of Kiev is … great!

For the rest of the programme, the cellos are left to their own devices: dreaming in Schumann’s Träumerei and flying at top speed in Rimsky-Korsakov’s Bumblebee. Lovers of deep strings be warned: this is not a release to be missed lightly!

EUR 18,99*

lieferbar innerhalb einer Woche
(soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten)

portofrei innerhalb Deutschlands